Alerting: Remove start page of legacy upgrade preview (#82010)

Alerting: Remove start page of upgrade preview

Alerting upgrade page will now always show the summary table even before
upgrading any alerts or notification channels. There a few reasons for this:

- The information on the start page is redundant as it's now contained in the
documentation.
- Previously, if some unexpected issue prevented performing a full upgrade, a
user would have limited to no means to using the preview tool to help fix the
problem. This is because you could not see the summary table until the full
upgrade was performed at least once. Now, you can upgrade individual alerts and
notification channels from the beginning.
This commit is contained in:
Matthew Jacobson
2024-02-15 17:34:00 -05:00
committed by GitHub
parent 8de9c4c373
commit 118e4a50b7
4 changed files with 45 additions and 302 deletions
@@ -59,7 +59,7 @@ When upgrading with either method, your legacy dashboard alerts and notification
In **Alerts & IRM**, the **Alerting** section provides a preview of Grafana Alerting where you can review and modify your upgraded alerts before finalizing the upgrade.
In the **Alerting (legacy) -> Alerting upgrade** section, you can initiate the process to automatically upgrade your existing alert rules and notification channels, and view a summary of the upgrade to Grafana Alerting.
In the **Alerting (legacy) -> Alerting upgrade** section, you can upgrade your existing alert rules and notification channels, and view a summary of the upgrade to Grafana Alerting.
Finalize your upgrade by restarting Grafana with the `[unified_alerting]` section enabled in your configuration.
@@ -70,8 +70,8 @@ Alerts generated by the new alerting system are visible in the **Alerting** sect
### To upgrade with preview, complete the following steps.
1. **Preview the Upgrade**:
- **Initiate the process**: Access the upgrade functionality within Grafana by visiting the **Alerting upgrade** page in the **Alerting (legacy)** section of the navigation panel. Click on "Preview upgrade" to initiate the process. This will automatically upgrade your existing alert rules and notification channels to the new Grafana Alerting system.
- **Review the summary table:** Review the detailed table outlining how your existing alert rules and notification channels were mapped to resources in the new Grafana Alerting system.
- **Initiate the process**: Access the upgrade functionality within Grafana by visiting the **Alerting upgrade** page in the **Alerting (legacy)** section of the navigation panel. From this page you can upgrade your existing alert rules and notification channels to the new Grafana Alerting system.
- **Review the summary table:** Review the detailed table outlining how your existing alert rules and notification channels were upgraded to resources in the new Grafana Alerting system.
2. **Investigate and Resolve Errors**:
- **Identify errors**: Carefully examine the previewed upgrade:
- Any alert rules or notification channels that couldn't be automatically upgraded will be highlighted with error indicators.