Alerting: Add clean_upgrade config and deprecate force_migration (#78324)
* Alerting: Add clean_upgrade config and deprecate force_migration Upgrading to UA and rolling back will no longer delete any data by default. Instead, each set of tables will remain unchanged when switching between legacy and UA. As such, the force_migration config has been deprecated and no extra configuration is required to roll back to legacy anymore. If clean_upgrade is set to true when upgrading from legacy alerting to Unified Alerting, grafana will first delete all existing Unified Alerting resources, thus re-upgrading all organizations from scratch. If false or unset, organizations that have previously upgraded will not lose their existing Unified Alerting data when switching between legacy and Unified Alerting. Similar to force_migration, it should be kept false when not needed as it may cause unintended data-loss if left enabled. --------- Co-authored-by: Christopher Moyer <35463610+chri2547@users.noreply.github.com>
This commit is contained in:
co-authored by
Christopher Moyer
parent
0f0249abea
commit
5a80962de9
@@ -23,7 +23,7 @@ Existing installations that do not use legacy alerting will have Grafana Alertin
|
||||
|
||||
Likewise, existing installations that use legacy alerting will be automatically upgraded to Grafana Alerting unless you have opted out of Grafana Alerting before migration takes place. During the upgrade, legacy alerts are migrated to the new alerts type and no alerts or alerting data are lost.
|
||||
|
||||
Once the upgrade has taken place, you still have the option to roll back to legacy alerting. However, we do not recommend choosing this option. If you do choose to roll back, Grafana will restore your alerts to the alerts you had at the point in time when the upgrade took place. All new alerts and changes made exclusively in Grafana Alerting will be deleted.
|
||||
Once the upgrade has taken place, you still have the option to roll back to legacy alerting. However, we do not recommend choosing this option. If you do choose to roll back, Grafana will restore your alerts to the alerts you had at the point in time when the upgrade took place.
|
||||
|
||||
{{% admonition type="note" %}}
|
||||
Cloud customers, who do not want to upgrade to Grafana Alerting, should contact customer support.
|
||||
@@ -91,13 +91,9 @@ If you want to turn alerting back on, you can remove both flags to enable Grafan
|
||||
|
||||
Once the upgrade has taken place, you still have the option to roll back to legacy alerting. If you choose to roll back, Grafana will restore your alerts to the alerts you had at the point in time when the upgrade took place.
|
||||
|
||||
All new alerts and changes made exclusively in Grafana Alerting will be deleted.
|
||||
|
||||
To roll back to legacy alerting, enter the following in your configuration:
|
||||
|
||||
```toml
|
||||
force_migration = true
|
||||
|
||||
[alerting]
|
||||
enabled = true
|
||||
|
||||
@@ -105,7 +101,14 @@ enabled = true
|
||||
enabled = false
|
||||
```
|
||||
|
||||
> **Note**: We do not recommend this option. If you choose to roll back, Grafana will restore your alerts to the alerts you had at the point in time when the upgrade took place. All new alerts and changes made exclusively in Grafana Alerting will be deleted.
|
||||
> **Note**: The next time you upgrade to Grafana Alerting, Grafana will restore your Grafana Alerting alerts and configuration to those you had before rolling back.
|
||||
|
||||
If, after rolling back, you wish to delete any existing Grafana Alerting configuration and upgrade your legacy alerting configuration again from scratch, you can enable the `clean_upgrade` option:
|
||||
|
||||
```toml
|
||||
[unified_alerting.upgrade]
|
||||
clean_upgrade = true
|
||||
```
|
||||
|
||||
## Opt in
|
||||
|
||||
|
||||
Reference in New Issue
Block a user