diff --git a/public/app/features/dashboard-scene/settings/DeleteDashboardButton.tsx b/public/app/features/dashboard-scene/settings/DeleteDashboardButton.tsx
index 28b0cbbfecc..033408be955 100644
--- a/public/app/features/dashboard-scene/settings/DeleteDashboardButton.tsx
+++ b/public/app/features/dashboard-scene/settings/DeleteDashboardButton.tsx
@@ -80,8 +80,9 @@ export function DeleteDashboardModal({ dashboardTitle, onConfirm, onClose }: Del
<>
- This action will mark the dashboard for deletion in 30 days. Your organization administrator can
- restore it anytime before the 30 days expire.
+ This action will delete the dashboard. Deleted dashboards will be kept in the history for up to 12
+ months and can be restored by your organization administrator during that time. The history is limited
+ to 1000 dashboards—older ones will be removed sooner if the limit is reached.