From f7cad3a2fe63db81fb435153361d1c6fb1a3bac2 Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001 From: Sonia Aguilar <33540275+soniaAguilarPeiron@users.noreply.github.com> Date: Thu, 15 May 2025 16:06:15 +0200 Subject: [PATCH] Alerting: Update docs rules bulk actions (#105442) * enable pause/unpause bulk actions * Update docs for pause/resume rules evaluations within a folder --- .../create-data-source-managed-rule.md | 4 ---- .../create-grafana-managed-rule.md | 15 --------------- .../monitor-status/view-alert-rules.md | 19 +++++++++++++++++++ 3 files changed, 19 insertions(+), 19 deletions(-) diff --git a/docs/sources/alerting/alerting-rules/create-data-source-managed-rule.md b/docs/sources/alerting/alerting-rules/create-data-source-managed-rule.md index 99200fa18a8..d11719cb5cf 100644 --- a/docs/sources/alerting/alerting-rules/create-data-source-managed-rule.md +++ b/docs/sources/alerting/alerting-rules/create-data-source-managed-rule.md @@ -165,7 +165,3 @@ All alert rules and instances, irrespective of their labels, match the default n Add custom labels by selecting existing key-value pairs from the drop down, or add new labels by entering the new key or value. {{< docs/shared lookup="alerts/configure-notification-message.md" source="grafana" version="" >}} - -## Bulk delete all alert rules within a folder - -Admin users can delete all of the alert rules within a folder. To delete all the alert rules in a folder, click the menu icon and select **Delete**. Then type "Delete" into the field and click **Delete** to confirm the bulk deletion. diff --git a/docs/sources/alerting/alerting-rules/create-grafana-managed-rule.md b/docs/sources/alerting/alerting-rules/create-grafana-managed-rule.md index 975af9b2e81..bab62def32b 100644 --- a/docs/sources/alerting/alerting-rules/create-grafana-managed-rule.md +++ b/docs/sources/alerting/alerting-rules/create-grafana-managed-rule.md @@ -337,18 +337,3 @@ Grafana provides several optional annotations. 1. Click **Save rule**. [//]: <> ({{< docs/shared lookup="alerts/configure-notification-message.md" source="grafana" version="" >}}) - -## Bulk delete all alert rules within a folder - -Admin users can delete all of the alert rules within a folder. To delete all the alert rules in a folder, click the menu icon and select **Delete**. Then type "Delete" into the field and click **Delete** to confirm the bulk deletion. - -## Permanently delete or restore deleted alert rules - -Only users with an Admin role can restore deleted Grafana-managed alert rules. After an alert rule is restored, it is restored with a new, different UID from the one it had before. - -1. Go to **Alerts & IRM > Alerting > Recently deleted**. -1. Click the **Restore** button to restore the alert rule or click **Delete permanently** to delete the alert rule. - -{{< admonition type="note" >}} -Deleted alert rules are stored for 30 days. Grafana Enterprise and OSS users can adjust the length of time for which the rules are stored can be adjusted in the Grafana configuration file's `[unified_alerting].deleted_rule_retention` field. For an example of how to modify the Grafana configuration file, refer to the [documentation example here](/docs/grafana/latest/alerting/set-up/configure-alert-state-history/#configuring-grafana). -{{< /admonition >}} diff --git a/docs/sources/alerting/monitor-status/view-alert-rules.md b/docs/sources/alerting/monitor-status/view-alert-rules.md index 199941c9578..34869a84364 100644 --- a/docs/sources/alerting/monitor-status/view-alert-rules.md +++ b/docs/sources/alerting/monitor-status/view-alert-rules.md @@ -76,3 +76,22 @@ To view or restore previous versions for an alert rule, complete the following s On the Alert rule's Versions page you can view, compare and restore the previous rule versions. {{< figure src="/media/docs/alerting/screenshot-grafana-alerting-version-history-v3.png" max-width="750px" alt="View alert rule history to compare and restore previous alert rules." >}} + +## Bulk pause or resume alert rules evaluations within a folder + +Admin users can pause or resume all of the alert rules evaluations within a folder. To pause or resume all the alert rules evaluations in a folder, click the menu icon and select **Pause all rule evaluation** or **Resume all rule evaluation**. + +## Bulk delete all alert rules within a folder + +Admin users can delete all of the alert rules within a folder. To delete all the alert rules in a folder, click the menu icon and select **Delete**. Then type "Delete" into the field and click **Delete** to confirm the bulk deletion. + +## Permanently delete or restore deleted alert rules + +Only users with an Admin role can restore deleted Grafana-managed alert rules. After an alert rule is restored, it is restored with a new, different UID from the one it had before. + +1. Go to **Alerts & IRM > Alerting > Recently deleted**. +1. Click the **Restore** button to restore the alert rule or click **Delete permanently** to delete the alert rule. + +{{< admonition type="note" >}} +Deleted alert rules are stored for 30 days. Grafana Enterprise and OSS users can adjust the length of time for which the rules are stored can be adjusted in the Grafana configuration file's `[unified_alerting].deleted_rule_retention` field. For an example of how to modify the Grafana configuration file, refer to the [documentation example here](/docs/grafana/latest/alerting/set-up/configure-alert-state-history/#configuring-grafana). +{{< /admonition >}}