Add notes about disabling an auth provider

This commit is contained in:
Max Sokolovsky
2023-03-06 17:16:38 -05:00
parent cf9222b1ad
commit ae0cb3ecc6
@@ -108,3 +108,28 @@ If you need to reconfigure or disable then re-enable a provider that had been pr
is logged in to Rancher as an external user, not the local admin.
:::
## Disabling An Auth Provider
When you disable an auth provider, Rancher deletes all resources associated with it, such as:
- Secrets
- Global role bindings
- Cluster role template bindings
- Project role template bindings
- External users associated with the provider, who never logged in as local users to Rancher
As this operation may lead to a loss of many resources, you may want to add a safeguard on the provider.
To ensure this cleanup process doesn't run when the auth provider is disabled, add a special annoation to the corresponding auth config.
For example, to add a safeguard to the Azure AD provider, annotate the `azuread` authconfig object:
`kubectl annotate --overwrite authconfig azuread management.cattle.io/auth-provider-cleanup='user-locked'`
Rancher won't perform cleanup until you set the annotation to `unlocked`.
### Running Resource Cleanup Manually
Rancher might retain resources from a previously disabled auth provider configuration in the local cluster, even after you configure another auth provider. For example, if you used Provider A, then disabled it and started using Provider B, when you upgrade to a new version of Rancher, you can manually trigger cleanup on resources configured by Provider A.
To manually trigger cleanup for a disabled auth provider, add the `management.cattle.io/auth-provider-cleanup` annotation with the `unlocked` value
to its auth config.